Midwest US


Courtesy of Upper Midwest Environmental Sciences Center

The Midwest is made up by the states of Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, Nebraska, North Dakota, Ohio, South Dakota and Wisconsin and has a population of over 62 million. In the Midwest, temperature can range from -40 degrees Fahrenheit in Minnesota and the Dakotas to 120 degrees Fahrenheit in Southern Missouri. The Midwest is made up of mostly flat land and is known in the United States today for its large participation in agriculture. In fact, almost half of the land in the Midwest is used for agriculture. In this part of the site, you will discover how important the Midwest is to the United States and how drought and runoff are impacting the land.

Information courtesy of:

Oracle ThinkQuest: Education Foundation





Contact cabrinicomdept@cabrini.edu with questions and feedback.

Cabrini College

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 3.0 Unported License.