Western US

Courtesy of the United States Geological Survey

Courtesy of the United States Geological Survey

The Western United States is comprised by the states of Arizona, California, Colorado, Hawaii, Idaho, Montana, Nevada, New Mexico, Oregon, Utah, Washington, and Wyoming.  According to a 2010 estimate by the United States Census Bureau, a total estimated population of 71,945,553 reside in the Western states.  In general, the climate of the West can be described as overall semiarid.

Most of the public land held by the U.S. National Forest Service and Bureau of Land Management is in the Western states, and accounts for 25 to 75 percent of the total land area.  The Western states are the most geologically active areas in the United States, with earthquakes causing damage to areas along fault lines, such as the San Andreas fault.  Extinct volcanoes and lava flows are found throughout most of the West.  In this part of the site, you will discover how Climate change is a major concern to the residents of the Western US.

Contact cabrinicomdept@cabrini.edu with questions and feedback.

Cabrini College

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 3.0 Unported License.